New Benjamin Anthology

At the Seminary Co-op yesterday, I picked up a copy of a new anthology of Benjamin’s writings from Suhrkamp — Kairos: Schriften zur Philosophie. It contains a lot of the classic essays not found in Illuminationen, including sections from the Trauerspielbuch, as well as a selection of letters to and from Scholem, Adorno, and Horkheimer. The copyright date is 2007, meaning that all of you who do not live near the Co-op should continue to be murderously jealous of me.

I have a kind of compulsion to buy Benjamin’s writings in German whenever I find them, even though my German is still pretty bad. The fantasy, of course, is that I will discover some magic-bullet solution that will enable me to read German comfortably, but that does not appear to be forthcoming at this time.

8 Responses to “New Benjamin Anthology”

  1. Why Aitch? Says:

    Bandwagonesque, their calling it ‘Kairos’, a term I don’t recall Walt ever using. A few new fragments of WB were turned up about 5 years ago by the Archiv, but everything else is already in the Gesammelte Schriften, so not tempted to buy a new anthology.

  2. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    I thought he used the term kairos in the theses on history. Maybe I’m thinking of the commentary called Fire Alarm.

  3. bjk Says:

    Speaking of anthologies, I’m saving my change for The Neokantian Reader, by Dermot Moran. Preorder in case it’s sold out.

  4. bjk Says:

    2009 isn’t that far away. And now when you read a footnote referring to “the neo-Kantians,” you can have some clue what that means.

  5. Adam Says:

    I figure I’ll preorder that along with Protestant Scholasticism: Greatest Hits.

  6. bjk Says:

    I’ve always wondered what influence Emil Lask had on “Zen and the Art of Archery.”

  7. Adam Says:

    Why Aitch is right that I should probably just buy the Gesammelte Schriften, but the Co-op doesn’t carry that and I don’t want to pay trans-Atlantic shipping.

  8. Ivo Hoek Says:

    you might be interested to know that Suhrkamp has just (May 2008)published the first volume of a 21-volume Benjamin Werke & Nachlass, which should become the definitive edition. The Suhrkamp site has a pdf with more info.
    I already own the Gesammelte Schriften, but this seems interesting enough (the first volume has very favourable reviews in the German press).


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,285 other followers