Butler and Anselm

After carefully reviewing the FAQ, I have determined that I am indeed allowed to post a PDF of my article entitled “The Failed Divine Performative: Reading Judith Butler’s Critique of Theology with Anselm’s On the Fall of the Devil,” which will be appearing in the April issue of The Journal of Religion.

5 Responses to “Butler and Anselm”

  1. Dave Belcher Says:

    Adam, I don’t know if you were aware or not, but Jodi is writing her master’s thesis on Butler (she’s just finishing it up actually to turn in on Monday). I’ll send her your paper, I’m sure she’ll be interested in it. Later.

  2. Dominic Says:

    Very good, solid piece of work (I say this knowing nothing whatsoever about Anselm, but having read a fair amount of Butler back in the day; I think you’ve unearthed a crucial challenge to the Lacanian schema that more recent interest in Zizek – in particular – has tended to overlook).

  3. Adam Says:

    Over twenty of you have clicked on my essay, making it the most-read journal article of the past two decades. Thanks.

  4. Daniel Says:

    To be fair, 15 or so of us are Googlebots.

    (I read it.)

  5. Adam Says:

    Dan, Thanks for reading. Even if you’re the only one to have read it, I’m still tied for 6th.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,581 other followers