Compilation of notes over Il sacramento del linguaggio

Please enjoy the PDF compilation of my notes over this book, complete with a bonus spellcheck. There were not many comments to the posts this time around, but those who want to look at the original serialized notes can always find them here or by clicking the drop-down box for “Categories” on the right and selecting the appropriate option under “Agamben.”

Since the last time I did this a year ago, to my knowledge the only people who have followed my example have been Andy, who provided great notes over Foucault’s final lecture course, and Thomas Bridges, who’s been sharing various notes over Hegel and the scholarship thereon. (If I’m wrong and you’ve done something similar, let me know in comments.) I am happy to do these notes as a service to the scholarly community (and as a way of motivating myself to generate the notes for my own use) — but I can’t personally do this for every book that would be helpful to people. So in short: go and do likewise.

9 Responses to “Compilation of notes over Il sacramento del linguaggio

  1. Ben Myers Says:

    Thanks, I found both of your series on Agamben to be extremely helpful.

  2. Andy Says:

    It has to be said that they’ve come so thick and fast that I’m gonna have to catch the pdf. Great service though: I’m thinking of doing the same again when I come across key texts. It’s a very useful scholarly practice and makes writing proper stuff afterwards much easier.

  3. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    Andy,

    You should collect your Foucault notes into one pdf as well. Email me if you would like help with that.

  4. Andrew Says:

    Adam,
    not really related to your notes (though thanks for those) but could you put up a list of books that would introduce someone to continental phiolosophy and critical theory from scratch who has a few months and about an hour a day?

  5. Adam Kotsko Says:

    That’s a challenging request, given the time constraints. I’ll ponder it and maybe do a post in a few days.

  6. Andrew Says:

    cheers. appreciate that.

  7. Daniel Says:

    Amazon is listing your translation of Sacarament of Language as available on Wednesday the 8th. Publisher is saying the tenth. I was just a little surprised to see the time between amazon listing and release so short as Agamben books and books in general tend to be listed much earlier. I know Amazon can jump the gun sometimes so I was wondering if you could confirm this publication date? Apologies if this is already being discussed elsewhere.

  8. Adam Kotsko Says:

    I have no more information than you, unfortunately. If you preorder, though, you will get it as soon as possible.

  9. Craig Says:

    For what it is worth, 22nd according to amazon.ca.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,251 other followers