New Critical Animal Studies Blog

Just a quick note to direct interested readers to a new group blog focusing on critical animal studies called The Inhumanities and includes long-time blog friend Craig. Here is the announcement of their first book event:

We are pleased to announce our first event, an intervention in and reading of Matthew Calarco’s Zoographies: The Question of the Animal from Heidegger to Derrida. We plan to cover a chapter a week, and the first post on the book will be up this coming Tuesday, 9-1-09. We encourage everyone to participate in comments, or emails. Calarco has been kind enough to agree to follow the discussion, and post a response at the end of the discussion.

Remember, if you want to email us just drop us a line at inhumanitiesblog@gmail.com

I hope to read along and you should to.

7 Responses to “New Critical Animal Studies Blog”

  1. Craig Says:

    Thanks for linking to us, Anthony — but isn’t tagging it as “boredom” a bit backhanded!!?

  2. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    Damn. I just have a bad habit of forgetting to tag posts and “boredom” is the default tag (ie what is always selected). I’ll fix it when I’m back home.

    I ordered the book today. Looking forward to reading along with you guys.

  3. Adam Kotsko Says:

    I have now changed the default category to “blog posts,” to avoid such misunderstandings in the future.

  4. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    Should probably just change it to “Anthony enjoys erotic self-asphyxiation” and then I’d remember to pick real categories.

  5. Scu Says:

    You all make me laugh. Thanks for the shout out. Sorry I couldn’t do beyond monotheism with you guys, though I am super psyched for you all doing Calarco with us!

  6. Bruce Rosenstock Says:

    I actually thought “boredom” was deliberately chosen to reflect the whole problematic in Heidegger on animals (which is central to Schopenhauer too on animals) that animals can’t be bored. Or am I missing a whole big joke about this very thing?

  7. Adam Kotsko Says:

    I don’t think you’re missing a joke, though I bet that right now Anthony is wishing he would’ve claimed that he used the “boredom” category for Heidggerian reasons.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,475 other followers