Summer plans in retrospect

Looking back, my list of what I wanted to do this summer would have been more accurately designated what I wanted to do by the end of the calendar year. I’ve crossed off what I got done; as you can see, the two Zizek articles, my AAR paper, and beginning in earnest on the translation still loom large. I decided a while back that the AAR paper would be better delayed until the fall, when I would actually be teaching over patristics, and I also felt that translation seemed like something that could be easily integrated into my new fall routine once it is established. As for the Zizek articles, I honestly gave them very little thought. Neither is due until the end of the year, however, so I don’t see a major problem.

The summer is not over yet, and in the next couple weeks, I’m obviously going to be forced to complete my (pre-quarter) course prep, of which my Tertullian reading was a part, and I will also have to devise a syllabus for Classical Christian Thought II (Medieval and Reformation — for reasons of institutional history, this will be focused on Augustine, Aquinas, Luther, and Calvin) relatively soon so that it can be approved for use in the winter quarter. That should pretty well clear the decks on the sections other than “writing.”

On the positive side, I wrote a short book, an article, a book review, my first-ever peer review, and two brand-new syllabi. I don’t think that’s too bad.

How did everyone else do with their goals for the summer?

5 Responses to “Summer plans in retrospect”

  1. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    On the whole not bad. Pretty much had the same realization as you did regarding calender year vs. summer. Also realized it wasn’t a big deal since Future Christ and the edited volume are due mid-January and mid-February respectively. The research agenda I’m working on is more of a continuing project, though it was held back in part by a pretty nasty flu I had for nearly 2 weeks.

    Though, I will likely have completed all my article writings, sans corrections, by the end of this month. Really not a bad haul.

  2. Adam Kotsko Says:

    So I guess not everyone had as good a record this summer.

  3. dave Says:

    Our silence is deafening.

    One of my “goals” this summer was to do a retrospective look at what I actually read this summer, instead of setting up concrete reading plans. That didn’t work so well, because I didn’t even get around to doing this “retrospective look.” I stopped halfway through a few books – Truth and Method, Race: A Theological Account. I did read Kierkegaard’s Sickness Unto Death and The Concept of Anxiety and an Updike novel, but overall the summer was pretty scattered for me.

  4. Daniel Lindquist Says:

    I meant to do shit.

    I didn’t do shit.

  5. myles Says:

    I pulled off a wedding, started a marriage, and began a dissertation. I’ll call it a win.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,201 other followers