Yet another to-do list

For some reason, AAR always seems like a more significant dividing line for me than the end of the first semester (or quarter this time around), and so my mind is turning toward what I need to do in the next few months — essentially until the time my Agamben translation is due, which is also the end of the winter quarter. I invite everyone to indulge their superego along with me if desired.

By the end of the current quarter:

  • Essay for Zizek Studies
  • Finish all applications for jobs I’ve already decided to apply for

By the end of winter break:

  • Another essay on Zizek I’ve been asked to do
  • Review of Hardt and Negri’s Commonwealth
  • Complete draft of Agamben translation (leaving the task of straightening out translations of Agamben’s sources until the quarter)
  • Class prep for winter

By end of winter quarter:

  • Finish up and submit the Agamben translation
  • Prep for spring quarter — my big goal is to use the class I have to teach as a reason to read through the entire New Testament in Greek

After that, who knows? Right now the Agamben translation is providing the medium-distance “horizon” for my academic work, so it’s hard to think of what will come after it. More importantly, what comes next will depend on what happens (or fails to happen) on the job front for next year.

10 Responses to “Yet another to-do list”

  1. dave Says:

    I usually engage the superego every Friday around this time, when I make a to-do list for the weekend. I’ve been thinking about trying to make a to-do list (really a to-read list) for the looming breaks. Since I’m neglecting my own blog and there are no comments here yet, I’ll just indulge by commenting the list here.

    To-do before break:

    – Write a respectable paper on Ricoeur for my independent study/capstone
    – Finish reading The Recognitions
    – Have a final list of grad schools to apply to
    – Have the money saved to apply to said grad schools
    – Expand on a paper for my creation stories class on Derrida and The Word (Hopefully using Taylor’s Altarity)

    To-do by year’s end:

    – Read Ellul’s What I Believe
    – Actually read the entire aforementioned Taylor book
    – Read most of the essays in Transforming Philosophy and Religion
    – Read Kearney’s Anatheism
    – Read The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
    – Read as much Marcel as possible
    – Apply to all of the grad schools


    These lists do not feel concrete enough. Part of that is because I’m still trying to figure out what I should read (or rather, how I should read). I started with the idea of making a tight list and making sure I read all of it, with a purpose, but that is quickly devolving into essentially a read-whatever-you-want list. I guess the only “focused” kind of reading I can do right now is on Marcel, since I’m taking a class involving he and Camus next semester.

  2. Brad Johnson Says:

    I didn’t realize Kearney had a new one out. This is good to know. If I had a to-do list, reading it would be on the list somewhere. (His Strangers, Gods, & Monsters was a very fine book, I thought. Much better than The Good Who May Be.)

  3. dave Says:

    Strangers, Gods, and Monster looks good. I might have to check that out as well. I’m also thinking of tracking down Kearney’s poetry, and neglecting Marcel’s “philosophical” works for his plays and so on. [i]This is a test of the italics system.[/i] (I can’t figure out how to incorporate italics into my posts).

  4. Brad Johnson Says:

    Strangers has a really interesting reading of Apocalypse Now. At the moment, that’s what stands out for me. I wrote a book review of it somewhere. I cannot remember where, though. I’ve not looked into his poetry.

  5. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    For italics instead of “i” use “em”.

  6. dave Says:

    Thanks, Anthony. Now I have the urge to re-do my list with italics.

    After a quick search, it seems like Kearney’s poetry isn’t as widely available as I had assumed. My interest in reading it is probably veiling something that should be on one of my to-do lists: write poetry again. I’ve been in a rut, even though I’m doing a lot of reading in philosophy that certain has connections with poetry and creative writing.

  7. Jeremy Says:

    I’d also agree that Strangers was a superior book. I remember him having a critique of Caputo in that work, which was helpful to see how he distanced himself from deconstruction. Also, let me know what you think of Altarity. It’s difficult and overwhelming, but the narrative he weaves together to connect the different thinkers is truly impressive (my only gripe is that he omitted Foucault and Deleuze from that work, although I don’t recall him ever engaging either of those thinkers).

  8. Brad Johnson Says:

    Taylor engages several people in Altarity that he doesn’t really touch all that much — Lacan, Heidegger, Kristeva — so, the absence of Foucault & Deleuze was a bit weird. Foucault probably gives him less to with, so that absence is perhaps explainable; but not at all sure about Deleuze. It’s a good intro though. I think his best work is Disfiguring though.

  9. Jeremy Says:

    Have you read Taylor’s latest yet? Creston posted an interview with him about his latest work Field Notes from Elsewhere.

  10. Brad Johnson Says:

    No, I’ve not. It did not seem immediately appealing, to be honest. The last book of his that I really liked was the one on complexity theory. I thought he dealt with a lot of stuff in a very capable, helpful way. The money book was a disaster. After God was an overly-long recap of what he’d been about for a very long time. I did, however, find his book about bones pretty interesting–was especially happy to see him writing about Coleridge there–but this is due to my overarching interest in all things decay and ruin. (About which, I realize, a post is long overdue.)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,475 other followers