Multilateralism

I’ve been writing a review of Hardt and Negri’s Commonwealth today, and a thought occurs to me: the fact that the Copenhagen climate talks produced little more than a token gesture seems to count as evidence that, as Hardt and Negri argue, multilateralism is just as dead as unilateralism. It’s difficult to imagine any kind of binding agreement being reached under any circumstances, but certainly a meeting among heads of state, various CEOs, and representatives of NGOs and religious groups seems more likely to produce meaningful results.

(Similarly, I wonder if one could take the depressing progress of health care reform as evidence that social democracy is just as empty as neoliberalism….)

2 Responses to “Multilateralism”

  1. poserorprophet Says:

    I was wondering which section you were talking about. I read and reread that part several times (when I came across it yesterday), it was so damn good (especially when Gaddis started talking about reason, means, and ends… which was especially striking to me given that I’m also currently reading Taylor’s Secular Age and writing a chapter on Paul’s apocalyptic eschatology). I think I’ll be caught up with y’all be your next post and look forward to joining the discussion.
    ~Dan

  2. poserorprophet Says:

    Oops, left that comment in the wrong place. I’ll repost appropriately.

    (That said, I’ve just started into Commonwealth and would be interested in reading your review.)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,417 other followers