Women in the Bible: A document

For my course on Feminist Theologies, the first reading is a selection of representative passages from the Bible, with a bias toward the New Testament since I am focusing on Christian feminists. I have posted the document on Scribd and invite any interested parties to make use of it, and also to point out to me significant passages that I’ve missed — but please have in mind a passage I can delete to offset it, as I think I’m pushing the boundaries of how much I want to assign for this.

7 Responses to “Women in the Bible: A document”

  1. Steve Harris Says:

    What about the woman in the desert passage in Rev. 12? It’s apparent she’s a type of Mary.

    Also, the inclusion of the four Gentile women in the genealogy of Matthew 1:17 is highly significant — but reading a genealogy is unenticing perhaps.

  2. Adam Kotsko Says:

    Both good suggestions. I thought about the woman in the desert, but I wasn’t sure what it added beyond just having the story of the Virgin Mary from Luke — perhaps just adding the cosmic element is significant… which then reminds me that if I’m doing passages that are important for feminist theology, I should probably include something from “Lady Wisdom.”

  3. Chris Rodkey Says:

    Whenever I officiate a wedding, I always preach from Revelation 21, unless the bride requests something else.

    Have you come across Tina Pippin’s Apocalyptic Bodies?

    Whenever I have taught feminist theology I have always found Mary Daly’s Gyn/Ecology tensioned with Audre Lorde’s “Open Letter to Mary Daly” to he helpful to teach the importance of the essentialism debate between second and third wave feminisms. Most recently I’ve also used the passage from Daly’s Amazon Grace that pretty much shows that Lorde lied about that whole scuffle.

  4. Adam Kotsko Says:

    Chris, I have not heard of the Pippin text, but it sounds interesting. I initially planned to make Daly a centerpiece of my course, but in dialogue with professors and colleagues made it a little more “basic,” for lack of a better word. I’ll be posting my syllabi today.

    I’ve updated the document to include a “Lady Wisdom” part and added the genealogy, explaining who the four women are. One bonus of this process is that I’ve learned how to update Scribd documents in place instead of deleting the old one and adding new.

  5. jacobpaulbreeze Says:

    Hi Adam,

    Looks good. Had you considered Sapphira from Acts 5?

  6. Adam Kotsko Says:

    That’s a good suggestion. I don’t think I’m going to make further changes for this time, but I will consider that for next time I teach the course.

  7. Adam Kotsko Says:

    A follow-up: I feel pretty satisfied with how this worked to kick off the class. I wound up needing to do a little mini-lecture on the history of canon-formation, because students at my school seem to have an insatiable appetite for more background information, but after that the discussion was really lively and insightful. People always do like discussing the Bible, especially if they feel like they’re being given free reign to be as critical as they want.

    One student who’d done a course on Old Testament also suggested the “good wife” passage from Proverbs, which I’ll probably add next time around.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,291 other followers