“Mark C. Taylor’s unbelievably misguided book…”

It’s good to see a book review that puts everything out front.

11 Responses to ““Mark C. Taylor’s unbelievably misguided book…””

  1. Mikhail Emelianov Says:

    It’s brutal, isn’t it? Except for the title (as ironic as call for abolition of tenure are coming for a tenured person), it’s spot on, especially in the department of “just because universities have problems does not mean they are the problem”…

  2. queenemily Says:

    Let’s all work for the University of Phoenix!

  3. BB Says:

    I know he is better than this, but Taylor seems like the Sarah Palin of academia when he trots out this kind of crap. “Privatize! Ivory tower! You betcha!”

  4. BB Says:

    Here’s a job posting that would give Taylor a hard-on:

    http://chronicle.com/jobs/0000645837-01/

  5. BB Says:

    Oh, wait, Myles probably adjuncts in the apparel department. Sorry for making fun of your job again.

  6. queenemily Says:

    Ha, he kind of is pulling a Palin. Sure, the neoliberal project of privatisation has failed to do anything but line the pockets of the top 1% of the US (sorry, that should be has *succeeded*), so hey more of the same should do the trick!

    I’d burn my copy of Erring but it’s propping up my coffee table now.

  7. Mikhail Emelianov Says:

    I think now it’s “pulling an O’Donnell” actually..

  8. christopher Says:

    It can’t be ‘pulling an O’Donnell’ as O’Donnell would object to any kind of pulling.

  9. ben Says:

    Here’s a job posting that would give Taylor a hard-on:

    Don’t be too certain; it is for a t-t position.

  10. myles Says:

    It’s hard to read snark over the Interwebs.

    Closest I came to adjuncting in apparel was a two-year stint at Barnes and Noble, which on its worst day, was a lot less stressful than academia.

  11. BB Says:

    True, very true.
    I wasn’t saying you belong in apparel. I was just making fun of the fact that the last time I tried to make a joke you happened to have the job I happened to be mocking. (Or just know about it? whatever).
    Though apparel may be where we all end up. I hear Abercrombie is hiring. I am going to go do some situps to prepare.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,787 other followers