Oh Irony, Where Art Thy Sting?

I can’t be the only one a wee bit put off by the much-lauded Banksy-directed opening to the Simpsons last night [embedded video apparently no longer works] can I?

I know the token reaction today is “I can’t believe Fox aired it!” But, aired it they did, and we’re left to pick up the pieces of what that decision means for telling the truth. In this instance, we’re dutifully rewarded for being “in on the joke” that we’re all a part of the process of commodity production & consumption. And yet, of course, as has become customary by now to point out, the joke is itself now a part of that same process, leaving us  mostly with either a feeling of smugness or despair. Either way, you’re still dutifully treated to a reasonably funny episode of the show you intended to watch. It seems to me the better way forward, albeit a way that would not have been aired at all, would’ve been, following the opening credits, to cut to random bits of Married With Children instead, or perhaps an old Maoist cartoon.

10 Responses to “Oh Irony, Where Art Thy Sting?”

  1. Brad Johnson Says:

    Hopefully the first video I accidentally pasted into the post was seen by a few of you. Because, that shit is pretty funny.

  2. Jamie Says:

    I thought the dolphin-head/tonguge-sticky-tape-licker device was funny, especially that is was utilized by grasping the sea beast’s protruding spine. But then, I also hate dolphins, so I enjoy seeing them treated in this manner.

  3. Marvin Says:

    I vote for despair.

  4. Brad Johnson Says:

    Admittedly, dolphins can be rapist, infanticidal assholes. The bigger the brain the more awful one’s potential it seems.

  5. Brad Johnson Says:

    It’s strangely fitting to the post that the YouTube link no longer works.

  6. Jamie Says:

    Dolphins can also threaten my tuna lunch meat supply, and THAT will become a problem . . . for them!

    Anyhoo, turns out Anthony found that sting you’re looking for.

  7. Brad Johnson Says:

    You have infinitely more faith than I that that is really tuna you’re eating.

  8. Adam Kotsko Says:

    Tuna went extinct in 1992.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,417 other followers