Methodist History article now online

Many of you emailed me asking for my article on Altizer at Emory that is in the new issue of Methodist History.  The whole issue is now available online here.  It begins on p. 37 and ends on p. 50.

4 Responses to “Methodist History article now online”

  1. Jeremy Says:

    Thanks for posting this. It’s fascinating to read those letters. I had a quick question for you. You said Kearney has engaged Altizer’s theology. Where has he written on Altizer? I don’t remember him mentioning Altizer in the God Who May Be or Strangers, Gods, and Monsters. Perhaps he discussed Altizer in Anatheism?

  2. Brad Johnson Says:

    I wonder if Chris is talking about “engaged” as in their recent correspondence w/ one another.

  3. Christopher Rodkey Says:

    Hm. Brad is right, because I am aware of and have seen the correspondence — as you may be aware Altizer’s theological conversations are often very public on email — but it didn’t really occur to me that I should have perhaps cited something.

    That said, my point isn’t so much about Kearney but about the strange state of philosophical theology in theological seminaries since the death of God theology.

    An earlier draft of this paper was a more straightforward historical treatment, and I actually wrote this for my dissertation, because I found all of this interesting archival material, but it didn’t fit. When I prepared it for an AAR presentation last year in Montreal, I added the more personal story at the beginning, and then after sharing it with Altizer, he encouraged me to pose a more theological question at the end. So this is a paper that has gone through the traditional process of writing, deleting out of another project, shelving for a year or two, sharing, presenting, rewriting, going through peer review, and then finally published.

  4. Jeremy Says:

    I was aware that he often was public in email, but I’m unfortunately not on the list to read any of those conversations. I understand the sort of resurgence of Altizer’s apocalyptic theology in recent conversations to be the return of the repressed.

    I’m still struck by the response from the campus minister of the Wesley Foundation at the University of Texas. I went to school there and have a friend who actually works for the Wesley at UT. I can’t imagine the leader forty years ago writing to Altizer “Don’t let the bastards grind you down!” I guess the place has gotten a bit more conservative theologically since 1966.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,079 other followers