Philosophy of Religion syllabus

I have posted the syllabus for my Philosophy of Religion course on Scribd. This is the last course I’ll be designing for Kalamazoo College, and it is also (somewhat strangely) my first time actually teaching philosophy.

Certain commenters will probably be gratified to see that I’m finally teaching Mary Daly, albeit not in the Feminist Theologies course — she does say, after all, that Beyond God the Father is an attempt at feminist philosophy.

9 Responses to “Philosophy of Religion syllabus”

  1. Dave Mesing Says:

    Looks good. I recall asking whether you were going to post this in an old thread several weeks ago, but wasn’t sure you saw it.

    I like the last week, especially.

  2. Jeremy Says:

    I’m wondering what it would be like to add Freud’s Future of an Illusion in the Nietzsche section. I imagine it’d be pretty easy to weave together and Nietzsche and Freud’s thoughts on religion. I’m also excited to hear how your students respond to the works of feminist philosophers.

  3. Adam Kotsko Says:

    Jeremy, Using Freud would be a good idea. I feel like I’m already pushing the pagecount boundary, but maybe if I teach it again in a semester system.

  4. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    These are really interesting choices. I am looking forward to hearing from you about how they teach. Was there a deep reason for leaving off Spinoza?

  5. Adam Kotsko Says:

    Strictly shallow reasons.

  6. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    Figured it was a time issue. I really need to read the Mendelssohn.

  7. Dave Mesing Says:

    Also, I’m not sure why I didn’t mention this before, but I’m really glad you are using Philosophical Fragments for Kierkegaard, and not Fear and Trembling, which is a bad book for philosophy of religion, first-timers to Kierkegaard, and generally in relation to the rest of SK’s authorship.

  8. Chris Rodkey Says:

    I’m teaching Beyond God the Father right now in two classes this semester, which is the second time I have used the book. As much as I love it and think it is important that students read it today, I find it a difficult book to get students to take seriously. I would love to hear how this goes and what approach you take.

    That said, I have taught parts of Gyn/Ecology many times, and often teach it in a philosophy course (the other courses are religious studies) and I believe that those discussions are the highlight of the class.

  9. Jeremy Says:

    You’re probably right about the amount of pages. I’ve just always found Freud to be very reasonable. I’m still unsure about Future of an Illusion, perhaps Civilizations and Its Discontents would be a better choice.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,251 other followers