Appeal for Travel Funds

Update: In less than 24 hours you’ve already provided what I need. Thank you so much to everyone. It’s been a hard few months already, financially it does look very grim for the mid-future and finishing a PhD never does seem to foster great joy, but I feel very loved on today. Thank you again for your support.

In the past I’ve referred to myself as a secular mendicant because I often find myself frequently begging for money to support my academic work. Because I am in my writing up year and because the budget has been cut I don’t have the full funding to attend the Syracuse conference, where I am on a panel discussing issues related to Laruelle’s Future Christ. The department has generously offered me a little money, £150, which is about half of what I need for a plane ticket. I would be able to cover the other half if it wasn’t for a crisis related to my partner being forced out of her job and likely to leave the country soon (essentially, due to a mixture of beaurcratic error on the part of her employer and the new immigration rules of the ConDem government, her visa renewal was denied and we have been told by three lawyers that our appeal is likely to fail as well). This means that I’m going to be very cash-strapped in the last three months of my PhD here in the UK.

So, if you can spare £5 or $10 please consider donating. I can’t offer much more than my gratitude and to post an audio recording of the panel here at AUFS. I will also enter everyone who donates into a drawing for a free copy of Future Christ signed by Laruelle as well. Thank you for any help you can give.

Donate Now.

10 Responses to “Appeal for Travel Funds”

  1. kunzelman Says:

    I don’t have much, but I threw $5 your way. I know that’s, like, a cup of coffee, but I hope it at least does something.

  2. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    $5 is very generous! Seriously, thank you.

  3. Kampen Says:

    I maintain that academics ought to have access to benefactors provided by the government. It would be for the betterment of society at large.

  4. Thomas Says:

    If it would help lighten the expense of your trip you’d be more than welcome to stay at my apartment (as opposed to a hotel). It’s within walking distance of campus and the conference. Others are welcome too.

  5. Andy Says:

    You only get a mite if you take a “secular” vow of chastity or something. Or vow obedience to mr Goodchild. Or throw nuts around in the conference.

  6. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    I think I have made a vow of obedience to Philip, who is a holy man in his own way. What kind of nuts?

  7. Andy Says:

    Gosh I don’t know: just seemed like a mendicant thing to do. But the kind of nuts is totally unspecified.

  8. Alex Says:

    Shit like this make me think the internet is an incredible force for good.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,685 other followers