Audio of “From the Fractured One of Shi’ism: On a Speculative Theory of Concealment and Dissimulation”

I expect that there will continue to be relatively little from me on the blog until I’ve finished my dissertation (the tentative hand-in date is July 1st). On Wednesday, though, I took time out to present a paper on some of the work in Islam I’ve been doing for the “Speculative Philosophies and Religious Practices: New Directions in the Philosophy of Religion and Post-Secular Practical Theology” workshop co-organized by Daniel Whistler. The event was good and it was interesting to speak with practical theologians whose concerns are very different than my own. My talk, “From the Fractured One of Shi’ism: On a Speculative Theory of Concealment and Dissimulation“, was a mix of the personal, reflecting on the environment in which my interest in Islam has grown, as well as the beginnings of some of my speculative re-working of certain Islamic practices. I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t really like giving very technical papers and this is the second polemic I’ve given, but I hope to bear out the argument more intentionally in its future written form.

10 Responses to “Audio of “From the Fractured One of Shi’ism: On a Speculative Theory of Concealment and Dissimulation””

  1. Alex Says:

    If you upload it to SoundCloud you can embed it. I’ll do it if you can’t be bothered….

  2. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    Soundcloud makes it sound a bit shit. But you can also download the better quality MP3 if you want.

  3. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    Seriously, Alex, does it always do that?

  4. Alex Says:

    Hmmm. I think that SoundCloud transcodes the file you upload, but I’ve never had a problem with it and I’ve uploaded hundreds of files. However, most were lossless to begin with or pretty high quality mp3s.

    At 128 kbps, which is the encoding of the original file, a re-encode is probably going to add artifacts to it like the ones you can hear. If it comes out of the recorder as a wav file, then bash this up there, however, if it doesn’t then I’ll see what I can do.

    Sorry for suggesting something useful, but ultimately problematic, enjoying the talk anyway.

  5. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    Ah, that makes sense. I had to record it on my phone which uses some weird amr file. Usually the recorder I use sounds better. I’ll use soundcloud in the future though.

  6. Alex Says:

    We should probably upload the back catalogue at some point. An audio tab at the top!

  7. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    All of my recorded talks are linked on my CV page.

  8. Andy Says:

    An audio tab would be great. Also some kind of APS channel on itunes…

  9. Jeremy Says:

    AUFS @ ITunes U


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,571 other followers