Book Discussion Group: For Real This Time (Winter 2011 edition)

So, I’ve been talking a good game, on and off, for about six months or so, mostly behind closed doors, via email and such, about doing another literary book discussion group here on AUFS. The book that I keep coming back to when entertaining this notion is William Gass’ truly amazing debut novel Omensetter’s Luck. This is not simply because I want to read it again, though I do, but also because of all the novels I want to read at the moment it is the one that is mostly explicitly in the AUFS wheelhouse — fallen creation, vulgar limericks, evil preachers, vague rumblings of theology with an atheistic panache.

Is there any interest for such a thing, though? We can push it off until December, if that works for you working & student stiffs. I have in mind basically doing it like the Jennings reading group: open threads for a few weeks, followed by a cluster of three to five posts on a theme or direction of your choosing. If you’re interested, comment as such.

14 Responses to “Book Discussion Group: For Real This Time (Winter 2011 edition)”

  1. Nathan Says:

    Absolutely. I say this mostly because I want an excuse to read it again, especially in the company of others.

  2. Robert Minto Says:

    I would of course be excited to participate in and contribute to anything that involves blogging and William Gass and Brad Johnson. I also like the idea of December. It would be nice to really spend some time with it during the holidays.

  3. r. krahn (@krahntology) Says:

    I think I recommended this awhile ago when you were soliciting ideas about what to read, so I’m obviously in to follow along (but I don’t know if I’ll have time to do much posting).

  4. Diana Hereld Says:

    Sounds brilliant. I’ve not read it, but feel this would be a great example (re: the earlier discussion of phallocentricity with Anthony) of an opportunity for real engagement and participation. I also find it seeming great deal more accessible than quite a bit that you all discuss on this medium, and much enjoy when the literature meets theology! Love it.

  5. Brad Johnson Says:

    Alright. Nice. Some good early response. Would be nice, I think, if we could get one more person who’d like to write something — a solid five would be tremendous. But, if not, no worries. This sounds good. I’ll contact all who’ve expressed interest, and we’ll work out details.

  6. Dan Says:

    I’m in. I’ll write. It will be a first reading for me, but I like the company for this sort of thing here.

  7. Daniel Silliman Says:

    I’d like to be in and would be willing to write. December would be best for me, though, as I’d need to use the break from teaching for the reading.

    It’d be a first reading for me, as well, though I’m a big fan of avant garde/experimental lit., so Gass has been on my list for a while.

  8. hewhocutsdown (@hewhocutsdown) Says:

    I’m open to giving it a read. Gass is new to me but it looks intriguing. I’m facilitating a discussion group surrounding Levi Bryant’s The Democracy of Objects through November, so I might start this one a little late, depending on how involved November is.

  9. Jim H. Says:

    I’m in, as well. I welcome the chance to re-read OL and will contribute, if space allows.

  10. Dan Says:

    As an aside, with all the OWS talk around here, reading “Les Justes” by Camus could be interesting and spark a lot of conversation. It’s a short play. Quick read.

  11. Brad Johnson Says:

    Good call. Thanks for the recommendation, Dan. I’ll track down a copy this week.

  12. Cliff Laine Says:

    Looks a really fascinating book – count me in and I’ll try to make whatever contributions of which I am capable. – Cliff

  13. hewhocutsdown (@hewhocutsdown) Says:

    It’s 3 in the morning, and I’ve just finished it. Very peculiar read, but I’m glad to have read it. Thank you for the recommendation.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,662 other followers