2011, considered in and for itself

This was a banner year for AUFS. In terms of sheer numbers, we reached a million all-time views this summer, and our total number of views for this year alone are at nearly a half million. This year also saw our all-time most popular post, Anthony’s Hatred of the Poor is the True Cause of the UK Riots.

It was also a ridiculously good year in terms of publications. Three of our authors published books: Dan Barber’s On Diaspora, Brad Johnson’s The Characteristic Theology of Herman Melville, and Christopher Rodkey’s The Synaptic Gospel. In addition, Anthony’s translation of Laruelle’s Future Christ was released in the US, and he also presided over a very successful AAR session on After the Postsecular and the Postmodern, in which several AUFS authors participated.

We held three book events, over my Politics of Redemption, Jay Carter’s Race, and Ted Jennings’ Plato or Paul?. In addition, a reading group over William Gass’s Omensetter’s Luck is currently ongoing.

Finally, at the beginning of this year, Rodney Clapp, a columnist for The Christian Century, named AUFS as one of the best theology blogs. So it’s official now!

What were the highlights of 2011 for you, dear readers? Feel free to link to favorite posts.

8 Responses to “2011, considered in and for itself”

  1. Christopher Rodkey Says:

    I didn’t really participate in the discussions, but I really enjoyed reading the book events on Plato or Paul, and Brad’s posts on his attempted return into the church.

  2. Adam Kotsko Says:

    Those posts were definitely a highlight. I for one think they should form the basis of a book!

  3. Jeremy Says:

    I really enjoyed the discussion around Carter’s book. The level of discourse was excellent.

  4. Robert Minto Says:

    I second the excellence of Brad’s posts on attempting to return to the church. I also enjoyed (and learned from) Adam’s posts on teaching. AUFS just improves with age like any good intoxicant.

  5. Jeremy Says:

    Also, note that Clapp only mentioned AUFS and Ben and Halden’s blog. Both of those blogs effectively died in 2011. AUFS reigns supreme!

  6. dbarber Says:

    I thought the Carter book discussion was great. And i think this year was very strong in terms of the diversification of writers and foci that we’ve had.

  7. Guido Nius Says:

    A gentle post reminding me of my less than gentle forgetfulness to buy Brad’s book (I happen to have read Melville so it is one of the few things I might at least have some prerequisites covered). I’ll combine this purchase with books of his recommended author. I’ll take any suggested prioritization as my command.

    I wish you all another happy year.

  8. Michael Says:

    I too enjoyed Adam’s thoughts on teaching, as well as many of the other great posts this year. I concur with Jeremy: AUFS is the only one of the supposed ‘big three’ theology blogs where there is much worth keeping up with.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,109 other followers