It’s official

I have finally “made it” in the theological world, now that I have a podcast at Homebrewed Christianity. Thanks to Stephen Keating for re-interviewing me after a major audio failure in my previous interview with Tripp.

11 Responses to “It’s official”

  1. beatrice marovich Says:

    In, like, twenty years “devil theology” is going to be an academic thing. Are you going to be the Thomas Altizer of devil theology?

  2. beatrice marovich Says:

    Sorry. I haven’t listened to the podcast yet. I’m just waging wild speculations.

  3. Adam Kotsko Says:

    I need to write the damn book so that no one takes my idea! Then I can truly begin to emulate Altizer’s career: outrage followed by marginalization.

  4. beatrice marovich Says:

    Hurry! And then, in twenty years, let me know if you want some help shopping for really outrageous and out of style jackets. I’m good at picking out gems like that from waste piles.

  5. Adam Kotsko Says:

    It’s a relief to have all this planned out in advance.

    In all honesty, though, when I was reading Cyril O’Regan’s Gnostic Return in Modernity, I started to get these vast ambitions for a multi-book series on the devil — and my advisor had this look of horror and said, “Do you want to become Altizer?”

  6. beatrice marovich Says:

    Did you erupt into devilish laughter and say: “No! I want to be BIGGER than Altizer!” ?!

  7. Robert Minto Says:

    That’s a great interview. It’s nice to hear your voice after reading you all this time.

    Out of curiosity, did they stick in somewhat random surges of quiet drumming to dramatize the conversation, or was that just somebody banging around in the background of wherever you recorded?

    Very much looking forward to the devil stuff, whenever you get around to writing it.

  8. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    “Outrage followed by marginalization” should be our new tagline!

  9. Jordan Balint Says:

    I didn’t notice it myself, but sometimes they put some background music in to try and combat other background noises in the interview environment

  10. Adam Kotsko Says:

    The Dog walked in periodically, making tap-dancing noises on the hardwood floor — but I can’t know for sure, since I’m physically incapable of listening to recordings of my own voice.

  11. Stephen Keating (@stephenmk) Says:

    It was either The Dog, or the ghost of Jacques Lacan haunting us for not mentioning him.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,576 other followers