2012 at An und für sich: Looking back

I don’t think there can be any question that the defining moment for AUFS this year was Brandy’s trilogy of posts on gender and theology (1, 2, 3), which led to a vast and fascinating discussion and prompted us to revise our comment policy. I have noticed some increase in women’s participation here, and I hope everyone will keep us accountable to our commitment to making this a more welcoming environment.

Brandy’s discussion was a rare occasion when traffic matched up closely with what we were most proud of — we had our single best traffic day, week, and month in November, and we appear to have gained a significant number of new readers as well, because December beat November’s record by far. If you look at our top posts, though, it appears that our blog is still dominated by our controversy with Radical Orthodoxy and our bemused attitude toward Object-Oriented Ontology (most notably the two guest posts from Alex Galloway). That is something I would hope to put behind us in the coming year. As we clarified after learning of Facebook gossip dismissing us as lightweights, we stand behind our published work on Radical Orthodoxy. As for OOO, I’m just not sure what more there is to say.

Another high point was our book event on Dan Barber’s excellent On Diaspora: Christianity, Religion, Secularity (Amazon: US, UK, Book Depository). His more recent post on anger is another personal favorite of mine. I also celebrate all of Beatrice’s posts this year, particularly in the last couple months, as well as Brad’s research agenda on “The Unruliness of Angelic Bodies”, for which someone should start up a Kickstarter.

A trend that sticks out to me looking back over the posts from last year is a clarification of our relationship to theology, as shown in Anthony’s post What’s Love Got to Do With It? and my post arguing that philosophy is to theology as eternal is to historical. This year was also a time of greater diversification as Christopher Rodkey’s sermons, Jeremy Ridenour’s reflections on clinical psychoanalysis, Josh K-sky’s movie posts all added much-appreciated variety to the blog.

Of course, nothing can compare to my post on MacGyver and neoliberalism, though I might be biased.

What do you think, faithful readers?

13 Responses to “2012 at An und für sich: Looking back”

  1. inthesaltmine Says:

    Auld Lang Syne to An und für sich! Congratulations on all the success and thank you especially for your work, Adam.

  2. robotsdancingalone Says:

    I thought, apart from the two posts on OOO (largely gobbledygook, I’m afraid), AUFS had a tremendous year. It’s pretty much my first port of call for theory at the moment.

  3. ambzone Says:

    “This website [AUFS] is weird.”

    – Ian Bogost

  4. Thomas Says:

    Will there be any follow ups on the RO critiques? Speaking for myself, I would be interested in a more sustained critique of the analogia entis than appears in the “That They Might Have Ontology” essay.

  5. Adam Kotsko Says:

    I do not plan to do any further writing on Radical Orthodoxy, aside from the odd footnote perhaps.

  6. Dave Mesing Says:

    I enjoyed the productive conversations on gender and theology from the sidelines, and was encouraged to see the changes in the comment policy–I think both bode well for AUFS 2013.

    I also must have missed Brad’s research agenda proposal upon returning from Germany/starting a Phd program, so thanks for reposting it. Brad, that looks really great.

    Are there any book events/possibilities slated for the upcoming year?

  7. Adam Kotsko Says:

    An event over Josh Ramey’s book on Deleuze is planned for early next year.

  8. Jeremy Says:

    I know I always appreciate Adam’s reflections on politics. I’d also love to hear more from Anthony in 2013, especially his studies of Islam and his adventures in teaching.

  9. Tom Says:

    I enjoyed biqbal’s post(s?) a lot

  10. Adam Kotsko Says:

    It’d be great if we could convince him to post more, definitely.

  11. Jon Paul Says:

    I’m de-lurking to say that I identified very strongly with Adam’s very personal post on the “overheard remark” and his evangelical upbringing. While I come to AUFS primarily for the political cynicism and the snarky disputes, that post was the one that stood out most in my mind this year.

  12. mattintoledo Says:

    Jon Paul’s comment about the most memorable post for him reminded me that Jeremy’s post about what the sexual abuse of children does to its victims quite literally pushed me from agnosticism to atheism.

  13. Jeremy Says:

    While I can’t say that it was my intent to push anyone into atheism, I can certainly understand how childhood sexual abuse can make someone deny the existence God.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,475 other followers