What I’m teaching in the fall

I’ve received my teaching assignment for the fall. I’ll be doing the elective over Being and Time that I’ve discussed periodically over the last year (my first Shimer elective), and I’ll also be doing two sections of Humanities 1: Art and Music (basically intro to fine arts). This will “complete the set” for me in terms of Shimer’s Humanities curriculum (including working on a comprehensive exam), so that’s nice. I’m also excited because a couple of my colleagues have significantly reformulated the course to center it around Ovid’s Metamorphoses, which has provided fodder for many works of music and art and also includes significant reflection on the arts more generally. More broadly, I’m relieved that after three semesters in a row teaching “writing intensive” courses, I have been spared this fall.

What about you, my dear readers? What are your future teaching plans?

10 Responses to “What I’m teaching in the fall”

  1. Hill Says:

    Happy to report I’ll be teaching my first class in the Fall quarter: graduate level structure and bonding in inorganic chemistry.

  2. Robert Minto Says:

    I’ll be teaching a two-semester long intro to philosophy, for the second time. Trying to enjoy the novelty of it while it’s fresh and feels like a privilege and before I suddenly wake up thirty years from now to find myself adjuncting the same old course at five universities at once. Assuming computers haven’t replaced us.

    @Adam: do you have to teach each element of the (humanities) core successively, like professors at St. John’s? That’s a really nice system.

  3. Adam Kotsko Says:

    We do not have to teach things in any particular order, nor do we use St. John’s very strictly chronological system.

  4. Ben Says:

    In summer I teach a general education class in Modern and Contemporary Literature with the theme “I Love the 80s.” In fall I do two sections of the same course, but with the theme “Fantasy Beyond Tolkien.” In the fall I also teach a Topics in Advanced Theory course on “History after History.” In spring I do two sections of Advanced Theory on “Music, Networks, and Digital Media” and one section of my “Baseball and American Culture” course (substantially revised from past springs I hope). In fall 2014 I hope to do something on technics or animals, but there was something else I wanted to do that’s now slipping my mind. I would really love to do a seminar on fantasy literature and incorporate Dungeons & Dragons into it, but man that might be going off the deep end even for me.

  5. Daniel Silliman Says:

    I’m teaching History of American Atheism, which I’m excited about and feel like has lots of potential. Also, for the second time, teaching an introduction to theory class for American Studies master’s students, which involves introduction continental thinkers to students with little to no philosophy background and is a real challenge.

  6. Mike Grimshaw Says:

    A postgraduate course on ‘the return of religion’ in social theory via the Frankfurt school; a new course on the sociology of the city and teaching into a100-level coue on globalization with modules on ‘religion’, ‘culture’ & ‘sport’

  7. Eilif Verney-Elliott Says:

    Teaching about the breakdown of meaning in PoMo (post-1950s) Western Culture and the digitalisation of the Self(ves) we’ve become through luminal speed communication and its implications for our sein-in-the world of becoming or Zeit as the primary field of contemporary Western tropes and temporal compression within the human-computer fusion- fissure.

  8. Eilif Verney-Elliott Says:

    Official title is Advanced Theory 512: Post-Modernisms & Abject Absurdities of Digitalisation

  9. Brennan Breed Says:

    Um, I’m teaching Survey of the Old Testament and Biblical Hebrew. Sounds decidedly less cool than courses on the 1980s, baseball, or absurd digitalization.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,287 other followers