Two notes on calling oneself a Marxist

Foucault:

There is also a sort of game that I play with this. I often quote concepts, texts and phrases from Marx, but without feeling obliged to add the authenticating label of a footnote with a laudatory phrase to accompany the quotation. As long as one does that, one is regarded as someone who knows and reveres Marx, and will be suitably honoured in the so-called Marxist journals. But I quote Marx without saying so, without quotation marks, and because people are incapable of recognizing Marx’s texts I am thought to be someone who doesn’t quote Marx.

Derrida:

I hear people saying ‘You picked a good time to salute Marx!’ Or else: ‘It’s about time!’ ‘Why are you so late?’ I believe in the political virtue of the contretemps. And if a contretemps does not have the good luck, a more or less calculated luck, to come just in time, then the inopportuneness of a strategy (political or other) may still bear witness, precisely, to justice, bear witness, at least, to the justice which is demanded and about which we were saying a moment ago that it must be disadjusted, irreducible to exactness [justesse] and to law. But that is not the decisive motivation here and we need finally to break with the simplism of these slogans. What is certain is that I am not a Marxist, as someone said a long time ago, let us recall, in a witticism reported by Engels. Must we still cite Marx as an authority in order to say “I am not a Marxist”? What is the distinguishing trait of a Marxist statement? And who can still say “I am a Marxist”?

3 Responses to “Two notes on calling oneself a Marxist”

  1. Ben Says:

    Love the Foucault quote. Do you have a source? I was just debating this issue and argued that Foucault had internalized the Marx’s and that it was all over Discipline and Punish. The response I got? Foucault is not a Marxist.

  2. Stephen Keating Says:

    It’s from one of the interviews in the Power/Knowledge volume. In my experience, marxists claiming that Foucault isn’t marxist usually haven’t read Foucault. Or Marx, for that matter.


Comments are closed.